Did You Create Your Website or Hire The Job Out?

• Created It Myself From Scratch

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Hired Someone To Do The Whole Thing

• Did Some Myself and Hired Some Out

• Total voters

Lizzy

Hello! I have zero experience in website design/development, but self-taught myself enough to get a WordPress site set up with my domain name and have put some content in there, but it needs a lot more work to look appealing and professional, and that's where I'm lost. I've been looking for work on Elance, so decided to post a request for help and got lots of responses. I've hired someone, but am having a hard time even telling him what I want. I've basically told him about the business, showed him some sites I liked, told him a few specific things I need (social media buttons, an email list generator, etc.) and kind of told him to run with it. Not sure how it's going to work out, but I'm just a little frustrated that even hiring out the work I feel overwhelmed! Just curious who out there designed their own website and who hired it done, and how daunting a project was it for you? Having a website that I'm proud of is step #1 before I can do anything else in terms of marketing. Just curious to hear if anyone else was as frustrated by this task as I am and if you have any suggestions. Thanks!

Liz

Paulette

I made my own website. I spent some time learning WordPress and created on my own site using iThemes themes.

LindaS

I build websites so I built my own. There are a lot of great themes for ppl that don't know coding in WordPress. If you are having difficulty and don't want to use elance , I would spend time going through various WP themes until you find one that you like. WP is pretty user friendly.

Blessedmomof5

I won a website build 4 years ago when I was writing parenting articles for regional parenting mags and absolutely loved my site - I was so new to all of the online adventure. And I knew NOTHING about WordPress, etc.