What are your Holiday Policies?

Action Jackson VA

The holidays are near and I am wondering what types of policies do you have in place to cover your holiday time?

When I worked at the university I always had December 15th through January 2nd off. This was a paid benefit.

Now that I am a business owner, virtually, I would like to know how does everyone assess what their time off will be?

If you already have a policy in place for holidays please let us know.

If you do not, what do you plan on doing to put a holiday policy in place?

Thank you for any feedback,
Andrea:seeya:

frsvirtual

Re: What are you Holiday Policies?

Hi Andrea, :)

I usually take a week off for the holidays, depending on if we're traveling. My clients know I observe all typical holiday days, but then b/c we live out of state away from our families, we do take more time off than others. So for instance this year, we're visiting our families during Thanksgiving but not Christmas - so I've already let everyone know I won't be available during the entire week of Thanksgiving. For Christmas, I plan to operate as usual, except for the actual holiday (though I'll probably take Fri. & Mon.). Same goes for New Years - 2 days is usually what I take unless we're out of town.

Clear as mud? lol :) So I guess my real "policy" is 2 days per holiday, unless we're out of town, then it's usually the whole week off (but we don't do more than 1 major holiday a year). My clients are very flexible & understanding so I've never had an issue with this. HTH.

Lia-VSS

this is what I do:-

Jan 1st
March 17 [St Patricks Day] [COMPLETELY CLOSED]
Good Friday [only open from 10am til 1pm]
Easter Monday
First Monday in May [MayDay]
My Birthday [31st May - UK Spring Hol last Monday in May]
First Monday in June [Irish June Holiday]
First Monday in August [August Bank Holiday - check/respond to emails only & internal Admin work only]